Backxwash wins the 2020 Polaris Music Prize, Report

Backxwash wins the 2020 Polaris Music Prize, Report
Backxwash wins the 2020 Polaris Music Prize, Report

Montreal rapper Backxwash won the Polaris Music Award for Best Canadian Album on Monday.

The Zambian-born, trans artist thus obtained recognition for her work on her most recent album, “God Has Nothing to do With This Leave Him Out of It.”

Backxwash, Ashanti Mutinta’s stage name, blends gothic elements of rap and metal with her own experiences with faith, family, and queer identity.

Her album features distorted samples of Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin and “In Heaven,” a track from David Lynch’s film “Eraserhead.”

Ten Canadian artists were competing Monday night for the Polaris Music Prize. Among them, three had already won the prestigious prize of $50,000.

Electronic music composer Caribou, DJ and record producer Kaytranada and singer-songwriter Lido Pimienta have each already won Polaris and were once again in the running for Best Canadian Album of the year.

The winner is chosen by an 11-member jury made up of music journalists and broadcasters who consider the album’s artistic merit, regardless of sales or genre.

Other contenders included R&B-pop artist Jessie Reyez, First Nations indie rock band Nehiyawak and artist Witch Prophet, real name Etmet Musa, a Toronto musician of Ethiopian descent.

Other nominees were the US-Girls, an American-Canadian experimental pop group, hip-hop and R&B singer Junia-T, and Pantayo, an all-female ensemble that combines traditional kulintang music from the Philippines with pop influences.

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the organizers of the Polaris music competition commissioned a group of filmmakers to bring each of the 10 named albums to life as short films, instead of holding an in-person gala.

The winner was announced after the presentation, which aired at 8 p.m. on the CBC Gem streaming service, CBC Music’s Facebook, Twitter and YouTube pages, and

Toronto rapper Haviah Mighty won the award for “13th Floor” last year, becoming the first female rapper to win the Polaris. Other winners include Jeremy Dutcher, Tanya Tagaq and Arcade Fire.

Previous articleQuebec earmarks $65 million to fight increase in gun violence related to organized crime, Report
Next articleOttawa constable found not guilty in death of mentally ill man, Report
Jose S Vanhorne
Jose S. Vanhorne 3714 Gambler Lane Deer Park, TX 77536 [email protected] 281-884-7952


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.